The easiest way is with a VPN. It’s a simple app that makes it seem like you’re connecting to the internet from another country. For example, it can change your virtual location to the UK so you can access British streaming sites from the USA, France, or Germany. The thing is, not all VPNs are very good at accessing UK streaming sites. I tested 55 VPNs and found a handful that were reliable enough to recommend. They all worked great with BBC iPlayer, Sky Go, ITVX, All 4, and UKTV Play, to name a few. Of these, ExpressVPN is my top choice for accessing UK TV abroad. I didn’t run into any errors while using it, plus it offers fast connection speeds that were great for watching shows in Ultra HD. It has a 30-day money-back guarantee, as well, so if you find it’s not for you, you can easily get a full refund. Watch UK TV With ExpressVPN

Why You Need a VPN to Watch UK TV Abroad

Many UK TV sites like iPlayer, NOW TV, and ITVX block overseas users from watching live and library content. That’s because of licensing agreements that restrict these platforms from broadcasting shows outside the UK. The platforms check IP addresses and block any that aren’t from the UK. A VPN unblocks UK TV platforms by giving you a UK IP address, even if you are outside of that region. It redirects your internet traffic through a British server, which replaces your actual IP address with one in the UK. As a result, streaming sites will see a UK IP address and think you’re in the country, giving you access to your account while outside the UK. Some VPNs can’t bypass the advanced geo-blocking technology that many platforms use. Others slow your internet speeds so much that you get buffering or choppy picture-quality. After extensive testing, my team and I found a few that work reliably and are fast enough for watching TV, no matter how far from the UK you are. Watch UK TV With ExpressVPN

Best VPNs to Watch UK TV From Anywhere in 2023

1. ExpressVPN — The Best All-Around VPN for UK TV With Excellent Unblocking Abilities

ExpressVPN’s Ultra HD-friendly speeds offer a bufferless experience when watching UK TV abroad. All VPNs slow your speeds slightly, but ExpressVPN is so fast, I didn’t notice the difference. I tested all ExpressVPN’s UK locations from Paris, France and my speed only slowed by 2% (for a total of 110Mbps). Ultra HD streaming requires 25Mbps, so you can stream shows and movies in the highest quality without issues. Its vast global network includes servers in 5 UK locations, giving you plenty of options to access UK TV. Having multiple servers helps because if you get connection issues, you can just switch to another one. I had no problems when using servers in London, Docklands, East London, and Midlands, though. Each one worked with iPlayer, ITVX, Now TV, and My5 without issue, and it’s one of few VPNs that works reliably with Sky Go. Most VPNs aren’t compatible with smart TVs. So I really like how ExpressVPN’s MediaStreamer allows you to access UK TV apps on smart TVs easily (it also works on gaming consoles and Apple TV). It only took me 2 minutes to set up on my PS5, and I could watch Peaky Blinders on my big screen with the iPlayer app. The thing with ExpressVPN is it’s a bit more expensive than other VPNs. The lowest monthly price is $6.67/month. Truthfully, I find it worth the price because it worked with the most UK TV channels and I never faced any errors while using it (I did with so many other VPNs). If you sign up long term, they’ll usually throw in a few months of free service, too. All of its plans come with a money-back guarantee, so if you’re not satisfied, you have up to 30 days to claim a refund. I tested this policy myself and can confirm it’s legit. All I had to do was contact customer support through the 24/7 live chat to cancel my subscription. After 2 business days, I got my money back. Watch UK TV With ExpressVPN

2. CyberGhost — Servers Optimized for UK Streaming Platforms

The best part about CyberGhost is its streaming servers — you can choose one based on the UK streaming platform you want to access. They’re maintained to ensure they consistently work (and don’t get blocked). I tested the UK streaming servers for Sky Go, iPlayer, ITVX, Prime Video UK, and All 4 and unblocked them all easily. There are even Netflix UK servers designed for Firestick and Android. I didn’t experience any buffering when watching UK TV since its speeds are really fast. I tested all 8 of its UK TV specialty servers and recorded an average speed of 99Mbps. Not quite as fast as ExpressVPN, but I could watch shows in Ultra HD without interruption. CyberGhost offers a Smart DNS feature (like ExpressVPN’s MediaStreamer), but it only works for Netflix UK. It was just as easy to set up on my PlayStation — I had it up and running in under 5 minutes, and it was great to watch The IT Crowd on my big screen. It also works for smart TVs and Apple TV. Another thing to be wary of is that CyberGhost’s monthly plans are pretty pricey and come with a shorter money-back guarantee period of 14 days. I definitely recommend a long-term subscription to get the most value out of this VPN — this way you can sign up for a very reasonable $2.11/month. The long-term plans also come with an extended 45-day money-back guarantee. That’s generous compared to most VPNs’ 30-day guarantees. This allows you to test CyberGhost with the UK TV channels you enjoy to make sure it’s what you’re looking for. They stood by their word when I asked for a refund, too — the process was quick and hassle-free over 24/7 chat, and I had my money back 3 days later. Watch UK TV With CyberGhost

3. Private Internet Access — Large Server Network for Watching UK TV From Anywhere

Private Internet Access (PIA)’s huge network includes servers in 3 UK locations, so you’ll have plenty of options for watching UK TV. When I tested 5 of its regular UK servers, I unblocked ITVX and All 4 with a couple of clicks. You can always just stick to its dedicated UK London-Streaming server for guaranteed access, too. Thanks to PIA’s fast speeds, it’s possible to stream UK TV in 4K without issue. My speeds never dropped below 98Mbps across all 4 UK locations I tested. I was able to watch His Dark Materials in sharp 4K quality on BBC iPlayer and didn’t have to wait around for the show to buffer. PIA gives you Unlimited simultaneous connections for streaming shows from abroad. Unlimited is more than enough connections for most users. I connected 7 devices to the London streaming server and watched live snooker on Eurosport on all of them. You’d think sharing a connection with so many devices would slow you downn, but this wasn’t the case. I did have some trouble accessing BBC iPlayer with PIA using its regular UK servers. All it took was a simple switch to the Streaming server to solve the problem, though, so it was no huge issue. You can get a long-term plan for just $2.03/month, which is pretty affordable. It also offers a short-term plan which is good for holidays outside the UK. All plans offer the same features. All PIA plans come with a 30-day money-back guarantee, so you can try it completely risk-free. I contacted a customer support rep through 24/7 live chat to check if the guarantee is trustworthy. I stated the reason for my request, and after 4 business days, I got a full refund. Watch UK TV With PIA

4. NordVPN — Ultra HD-Friendly Speeds Offered on All Servers, Great for Watching UK TV

NordVPN offers terrific speeds over distance, great for watching UK TV from anywhere. From a base of 112Mbps, I got average speeds of 102Mbps from NordVPN’s 4 locations. That’s impressive from where I am in France, but my colleague in LA connected to London and got 96Mbps from a similar base speed. They had no issues accessing iPlayer. NordVPN’s Presets let you configure profiles for the UK TV platforms you want. Once set up, I could go from watching Discovery+ (available Europe-wide) to watching All 4 (UK only) with one click. Usually, I’d have to disconnect from my local server and find one in the UK. Sadly, this neat feature is only available for macOS, but a NordVPN rep told me Presets is set to roll out for other OSs soon. I was impressed that NordVPN gives you 130+ UK servers that support streaming. I tested 15 servers across all 4 UK locations. Each had no problem accessing iPlayer, ITVX, All 4, and My5 — and they all support streaming in Ultra HD (providing your base speed is fast enough). Unlike ExpressVPN, NordVPN couldn’t access every UK TV platform I tested. It couldn’t access Prime Video or Sky Go. I was impressed it could access iPlayer though, as some VPNs struggle. NordVPN lets you customize your plan. You can choose the duration as well as the pricing tier. Plus and Complete come with security add-ons, but in truth, you only need Standard to access UK TV, so I recommend that. Prices start from $3.29/month. All plans are backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee. I tested this out by contacting live chat. It was a bit annoying to go through a chatbot first. But, once connected to a real person, my refund was quickly approved. My money was back 3 days later. Watch UK TV With NordVPN

5. Surfshark — Watch UK TV on All Your Home Devices Without Limitation

Surfshark offers unlimited device connections, so it’s ideal for a houseful of UK TV fans. That impressed me because most VPNs limit your connections to around 5–10 devices. I tested Surfshark out using 2 Androids, an iPhone, a Windows laptop, and a Mac. I connected them all to ITVX to watch Stonehouse. They all streamed in flawless HD with zero buffering. Speeds are fast, especially over long distances. My colleague in Australia got Ultra HD-friendly speeds when connected to a UK server. That makes Surfshark a great choice for watching UK TV, wherever you are. Its unblocking abilities are top-notch. It gave me easy access to iPlayer, ITVX, All 4, My5, and STV. It was just like being back in the UK. The only issue I ran into was when I tried to access iPlayer on Chrome and got an error message. I tested all 4 UK locations and found the same problem; I couldn’t log into my account, even in Incognito mode. If this happens to you, try another browser. I had no problem logging in when I switched to Firefox. Generally with VPNs, you get more value with a longer plan. That’s also true with Surfshark — I subscribed to a long-term plan and saved 82%. There’s a range of plans available, and prices start at $2.30/month, so it’s also one of the most affordable options. There’s no risk in giving Surfshark a try with your favorite UK channels — it offers a solid 30-day money-back guarantee. Like NordVPN, I had to go through a chatbot before being transferred to an agent. But once connected, my refund was quickly approved. My money was back in my account after 3 days. Watch UK TV With Surfshark

What can I do if my UK TV VPN stops working?

There are a number of easy troubleshooting tips to try if your VPN stops working. Most of the VPNs on my list have 24/7 live chat and will troubleshoot any issue you have until it’s fixed. There are a few easy things you can do yourself first, though:

Switch servers. Streaming platforms block individual IP addresses if they suspect it comes from a VPN. If a service blocks you, regaining access could be as simple as switching to a different UK location or just reconnecting to the same server to generate a new IP. Use a different platform. If you’re watching the iPlayer app, try using a browser instead and vice versa. You can also try switching browsers or using a different device. Clear your cache and cookies, and use a private window. Sites can leave cookies on your device, which can reveal your true location and result in your VPN connection being blocked. Simply go into browser security settings and clear your browsing history, cookies, and cache. I also recommend using a private (or incognito) window. Disable your GPS. Websites and apps can use GPS to locate you on mobile devices. Turn off any location tracking services in your settings. Another fix is to set up a new Google or Apple account in the UK.

Can I watch UK TV without a TV license?

You can if you’re outside the UK, but it depends on the channel or platform. While a VPN helps you access UK TV streaming platforms from abroad, you may face a block anyway if you can’t prove you have TV license. BBC iPlayer, for example, asks whether you have one, but no formal proof is required. While you’re not subject to British law when you’re outside the UK, you may be breaking the streaming service’s terms of use, though. I recommend you check the streaming platform’s rules surrounding accessing UK channels from abroad before doing so. However, there’s been no reports of a VPN user being banned from their streaming account for using a VPN at time of writing. These services try to block VPN IPs instead.

Is it possible to watch UK TV for free?

Yes. Many UK platforms are free to watch or have free content, including ITVX, All 4, BBC iPlayer, and My5. If you’re trying to access these platforms from abroad, you will need a VPN to bypass the geo-restrictions. The only ones that worked consistently during my tests cost a bit of money. That being said, all the UK TV VPNs listed come with a solid money-back guarantee. You get at least 30 days to use the service and are guaranteed a full refund within that period if you’re not 100% satisfied.

How do I watch UK TV online in the USA, France, and Spain?

You can watch UK TV from the US, France, and Spain the same way you can from anywhere outside the UK. Just make sure to choose a VPN with UK servers that’s reliable at accessing British channels. Once you have that, just connect to a UK server and load the channel you want.

What devices can I use to watch UK TV abroad?

You can watch UK TV on various devices with a VPN. VPNs work for watching UK TV abroad on many popular devices:

Desktop PCs. Windows, macOS, Linux, and Raspberry Pi Mobiles and tablets. iOS, iPad, Fire Tablet, Android, Kindle, and more Streaming devices. Chromecast, Echo Show, Echo Spot, Firestick, Fire TV, Kodi, Roku, smart TVs, Sky Q, Sky Go, TiVO, Xfinity, and more Game consoles. Playstation, Switch, Xbox

Is it illegal to watch UK TV from abroad?

No, it isn’t illegal to watch UK TV from abroad in most countries. You just need a VPN so you can connect to a server in the UK, giving you a UK IP address. However, it may violate the terms and conditions of the streaming platforms you access. I recommend checking Terms of Use on the channel’s website. In countries with strict censorship laws like China, Iran, and the UAE, VPNs are either banned or highly regulated, so it could be illegal to use a VPN at all. I recommend looking up the most recent local laws before using just any VPN in a country that regulates their use.

Can I watch UK TV abroad without a VPN?

Yes, but these alternatives aren’t as safe or reliable as a VPN. A proxy can change your location like a VPN, but unlike a VPN, they’re mostly just servers with no customer support. I would always recommend using a VPN instead since it’s more private, and you don’t have to deal with long loading times and buffering. My above VPN recommendations all had excellent speeds while streaming, so you don’t have to deal with the annoying interruptions you often get with a proxy. Watch UK TV With ExpressVPN

Start Watching UK TV From Abroad Now

You shouldn’t have to miss out on watching UK TV while traveling outside the UK. Fortunately, there’s an easy solution — a reliable VPN can access UK TV sites from anywhere. That includes streaming platforms like BBC iPlayer, Netflix UK, NOW TV, ITVX, and Sky Go. The best VPN for watching UK TV abroad is ExpressVPN because it has servers in 5 UK locations that all support streaming, plus speeds that easily support streaming in Ultra HD. You can also try ExpressVPN risk-free since it comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee. You can easily claim a refund if it’s not for you.

To summarize, the best VPNs for watching UK TV abroad are…

The information above can be used to track you, target you for ads, and monitor what you do online.

         VPNs can help you hide this information from websites so that you are protected at all times. We recommend ExpressVPN — the #1 VPN out of over 350 providers we've tested. It has military-grade encryption and privacy features that will ensure your digital security, plus — it's currently offering 49% off.        
          Visit ExpressVPN         

How to Watch UK TV Abroad in 2023   Quick   Easy Guide - 59How to Watch UK TV Abroad in 2023   Quick   Easy Guide - 34How to Watch UK TV Abroad in 2023   Quick   Easy Guide - 14How to Watch UK TV Abroad in 2023   Quick   Easy Guide - 47How to Watch UK TV Abroad in 2023   Quick   Easy Guide - 6How to Watch UK TV Abroad in 2023   Quick   Easy Guide - 22How to Watch UK TV Abroad in 2023   Quick   Easy Guide - 62How to Watch UK TV Abroad in 2023   Quick   Easy Guide - 44How to Watch UK TV Abroad in 2023   Quick   Easy Guide - 78How to Watch UK TV Abroad in 2023   Quick   Easy Guide - 22