To watch Austrian TV anywhere, you’ll need a VPN. A VPN gets past the geoblocks by masking your IP address with an Austrian one. It will then appear to channels like ATV and ORF 2 that you’re in Austria. After testing all the major VPNs on the market, I’ve compiled a list of the best ones you can use to watch Austrian TV from anywhere. My all-time favorite is ExpressVPN because of its reliable service, superfast speeds, and ease of use. It also has a 30-day money-back guarantee so you can try it out risk-free. If you don’t like it, you can get a full refund. Start Watching Austrian TV

Why You Need a VPN to Watch Austrian TV

Austrian TV platforms, like most of the other worldwide streaming sites, are geo-restricted. Generally, that’s because of the licensing agreements they make with the production companies. These agreements may allow access for the platform’s viewers in one or a couple of locations, but not all. If you’ve tried to watch Austrian TV from abroad, you’ve probably gotten an error message like this one: Streaming platforms enforce these geographic restrictions by looking at your IP addresses. Your IP shows the approximate location you’re browsing in, including your country. To get around the geoblocks, you’ll need a VPN so you can get an Austrian IP address. The VPN masks your actual IP address with one from a server in Austria, making it appear as if you are inside the country. You’ll then get access to all your favorite Austrian shows, movies, and events. Watch Austrian TV Now

Best VPNs to Watch Austrian TV From Anywhere in 2023

1. ExpressVPN — Fastest Speeds for Watching Austrian TV in HD

ExpressVPN is my favorite option for streaming Austrian TV because of its superfast speeds that allow you to watch in HD. While VPNs usually slow down your internet connection by 20%, ExpressVPN only showed a 4% drop during my tests. Namely, I got an average download speed of 28 Mbps, which was only slightly slower than my base speed of 29 Mbps. I watched a football game on ORF and had no issues with quality or connection. It also offers unlimited bandwidth, which means there’s no limit to the amount of content you can stream. When I checked in with customer support, they told me that it offers over 100 Austrian servers, which is more than enough. This means that you won’t experience any disconnections due to overcrowding. I enjoy using ExpressVPN because it’s the most reliable way to get past geoblocks on all Austrian TV channels. With it, I was able to access ATV, ORF, Puls 4, Servus TV, and Netflix Austria. Its apps are very intuitive and straightforward, so you can easily get the hang of them and quickly connect to an Austrian server. Finding a server took me only 3 seconds — all I had to do was type “Austria” in the search bar of the server list. To connect to a server, you just need to select it and click on the big “Connect” button. You don’t need to change any other settings to watch Austrian TV — connecting to a server is the only thing you have to do. ExpressVPN’s plans are a bit expensive, with the most affordable plan costing $6.67/month. However, it’s offering a great deal right now with a discount of 49% off your subscription. The most popular is its long-term plan, but you can also pay monthly or every 6 months. Its plans are all backed by a 30-day money-back guarantee so you can try ExpressVPN out risk-free. To make sure it really works, I signed up for a new account to test it out. After a few weeks, I requested a refund through the 24/7 live chat, and the process ended up being super easy. They processed my refund with no questions asked, and I had the money returned to my account within 4 days. Watch Austrian TV With ExpressVPN

2. CyberGhost — Streaming-Optimized Servers for ORF and Servus TV

CyberGhost has an extensive server network with 210+ servers in Austria, including optimized ones for ORF and Servus TV. These streaming-optimized servers are specifically designed to ensure you can get reliable access every time. When I tested both of them, I was able to stream the latest soccer match with no interruptions. With its regular servers, I managed to unblock ATV and German channels like Vox and RTL, which are some of the favorites in Austria. It also performed well in my speed tests, and my results show that you can watch Austrian TV without lag or buffering. There was only a slight difference from my regular internet connection (only a 5% decrease), and I was able to watch Servus TV’s broadcasts in HD. Testing faraway and nearby servers, I got average download speeds of 27.7 Mbps while my base speed was 29 Mbps (only 5 Mbps are required for HD streaming). If you’re looking for an easy-to-use VPN for streaming, CyberGhost is a good choice. Its default settings are suitable for streaming, so you won’t have to do anything fancy to configure them. The app is also very well organized, with a separate tab for streaming-optimized servers. So, you can quickly find the one you need just by typing in your preferred country or streaming platform. It took me just 2 clicks to find the ORF and Servus TV servers. You can also save your favorite servers in a separate tab for easy access. CyberGhost’s minor drawback is that its short-term plan is more expensive than some other top providers and only offers a 14-day money-back guarantee. However, its other plans are more affordable starting from $2.11/month for its longest subscription and come with a heftier refund period. All of CyberGhost’s longer plans offer a 45-day money-back guarantee so you can try it out without any risks. In order to get your refund, all you need to do is disable auto-renewal on your account and go to the 24/7 live chat to request a refund. When I tried, the customer service agent asked me once if there was anything they could do, but afterward just processed my refund. After I received an email confirmation, I got all my money back in 5 days. Watch Austrian TV With CyberGhost

3. Private Internet Access — Reliable Austrian Servers to Unblock Geo-Resticted Channels

Private Internet Access has an extensive server network with 29,650 servers worldwide, including a server location in Austria. When I contacted its support team, they stated that there are more than 20 virtual Austrian servers with no exact information about physical ones. This number of servers is more than enough and helps you avoid overcrowding and slow connection speeds, which is essential for a good streaming experience. Its speeds are impressive, which means you’ll be able to watch Austrian TV in HD. I watched an episode of Hubert ohne Staller on Servus TV without any buffering. Although its speeds were slightly slower than ExpressVPN’s and CyberGhost’s during my tests, I didn’t see any significant difference in my video streaming. In my speed tests using servers around the world, I got average download speeds of 27.3 Mbps with a base download speed of 29 Mbps, which is only a 6% drop. When I tested PIA, I was able to access ATV, Puls 4, and Servus TV, though I couldn’t access any geoblocked ORF channels. I contacted PIA’s 24/7 live chat support, which was very responsive and let me know that PIA no longer supports ORF streaming. PIA is a good option if you’re looking for shorter plans — it offers a 1-month and a 6-month subscription. Its cheapest option is the long-term plan that you can get for $2.03/month. All plans are covered by its 30-day money-back guarantee, so you can try it out risk-free with some Austrian channels. I found the refund process to be pretty easy. I was able to request it through PIA’s live chat using my order number. The agent offered me the option to troubleshoot any issues, along with the option to cancel or refund my account. Once my request was approved, I got my money back in 5 days. Watch Austrian TV With PIA

4. IPVanish — Watch Austrian TV on an Unlimited Number of Devices

IPVanish is a good option for streaming Austrian TV, especially because it allows you to have unlimited simultaneous device connections. This means that you and your whole family can stream different content on as many devices as you want at once. To test it out, I connected my laptop to watch an episode of Heinzl und die VIPs on ATV and my phone to stream a tennis match on ORF. The connection was just as stable as when I was only connected on my laptop. It has a sizeable server network with 2,200 servers, including more than 10 in Vienna, so you’ll have plenty of options to choose from for watching Austrian TV. When you select a country, there’s an option on the app that will automatically connect you to the best available server. When I tested some of its Austrian servers, I was able to watch shows on ATV, Servus TV, and Puls 4, although I wasn’t able to access geoblocked sports broadcasts on ORF. IPVanish also has pretty fast connection speeds that allow you to watch Austrian TV channels in HD without buffering. My speed test showed only a slight difference from my regular internet connection, not enough to significantly impact the quality of streaming. On average, IPVanish servers decreased my download speed from 29 Mbps to 27.8 Mbps (around a 5% drop). It offers a monthly and quarterly plan. Its cheapest option is its long-term plan which costs $2.49/month. Unlike some other top VPNs, IPVanish does have somewhat limited payment options and doesn’t accept cryptocurrency payments. It does, however, accept major credit cards and PayPal. Its yearly plan comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee, so you can try it risk-free. If you change your mind and want a refund, you can cancel your subscription through its website and your refund will be processed automatically. The process is hassle-free — I got my money back in 6 days. Watch Austrian TV With IPVanish

5. PrivateVPN — Easy-To-Use Apps to Watch Austrian TV Now

PrivateVPN is a great option if you’re a VPN beginner because its apps are very easy to use. Once I downloaded the app, I was able to connect to an Austrian server within seconds. The “Simple View” offers the option to select your location and connect to a server by clicking on the on/off button. It also offers an “Advanced View” where you can find information about the VPN’s settings and the option to enable special features. Though, you don’t have to tweak anything to make it work for streaming. While PrivateVPN’s speeds are slower than ExpressVPN’s, they are still pretty good if you want good streaming quality. On average, its servers reduced my download speeds from 29 Mbps to 23 Mbps. That was a 20% drop, which is acceptable for a VPN. I had no connection issues while watching an episode of Tinderreisen on ATV. Its slight drawback is that it has the smallest server network out of all other VPNs listed with 200 servers in 63 countries. However, it has an Austrian server location that works reliably. When I tested it out, I could access ATV, Servus TV, and Puls 4, but not ORF. PrivateVPN’s prices start at $2/month for a long-term plan. It also offers monthly plans if you’re interested in using it for a shorter period. All plans are covered by a 30-day money-back guarantee, so you can test it out with no risks and get a full refund if you change your mind. In order to get the refund, you’ll need to cancel your subscription within the allotted 30 days. You can then contact customer service via live chat or email with a reason for requesting a refund. I received my money back within a week. Watch Austrian TV With PrivateVPN

How can I watch the Austrian Bundesliga from the US?

To watch the Austrian Bundesliga from the US, the UK, or anywhere else in the world, you’ll need a VPN. Many Austrian live sports channels are geoblocked, meaning you can only watch them inside Austria. A VPN will mask your IP address with one from Austria, making it appear as if you’re accessing the site from there and thus letting you stream its content. All of the VPNs on this list work reliably for unblocking Austrian TV channels where you can watch the Bundesliga.

Which Austrian TV stations can I watch outside of Austria?

You can watch any Austrian TV station you want from outside Austria with a VPN. It’s a simple app that gives you an Austrian IP address. With a VPN, you’ll be able to stream ATV, ORF, Servus TV, Puls 4, and more wherever you are. The VPNs I included in this list easily unblocked these channels. All you need to do is connect to one of your VPN’s Austrian servers, search for your preferred channel on your browser, and select a show.

Can I watch Austrian TV shows on Netflix when I’m traveling outside the country?

Yes, if you use a VPN to change your Netflix library to Austria. Once you download your VPN and connect to a server in Austria, you can watch Austrian Netflix shows like Freud, Altes Geld, and Kitz or movies like The Ivory Game. It changes your actual IP with one from Austria, which makes it look like you’re connected from there. That way, you’ll get access to Netflix Austria in just a few seconds. Try ExpressVPN Risk-Free

Start Watching Austrian TV Now

If you’re struggling to watch your favorite Austrian shows while traveling or living abroad, a VPN can help. Streaming services often use geoblocks to ensure that only users within their licensed regions can access their content. By masking your IP address with an Austrian one, a VPN will allow you to get past the geoblocks and access all your favorite shows, movies, and events. ExpressVPN is my #1 recommendation for watching Austrian TV from outside Austria. It is the most reliable VPN for bypassing geoblocks, and it has the fastest speeds available for HD streaming. In addition, it comes with a 30-day money-back guarantee, so you can try it out risk-free. If you decide it’s not for you, you can get a full refund.

To summarize, the best VPNs for watching Austrian TV are…

The information above can be used to track you, target you for ads, and monitor what you do online.

         VPNs can help you hide this information from websites so that you are protected at all times. We recommend ExpressVPN — the #1 VPN out of over 350 providers we've tested. It has military-grade encryption and privacy features that will ensure your digital security, plus — it's currently offering 49% off.        
          Visit ExpressVPN         

How to Watch Austrian TV Channels From Anywhere in 2023 - 83How to Watch Austrian TV Channels From Anywhere in 2023 - 66How to Watch Austrian TV Channels From Anywhere in 2023 - 21How to Watch Austrian TV Channels From Anywhere in 2023 - 76How to Watch Austrian TV Channels From Anywhere in 2023 - 98How to Watch Austrian TV Channels From Anywhere in 2023 - 59How to Watch Austrian TV Channels From Anywhere in 2023 - 7How to Watch Austrian TV Channels From Anywhere in 2023 - 51How to Watch Austrian TV Channels From Anywhere in 2023 - 20How to Watch Austrian TV Channels From Anywhere in 2023 - 96How to Watch Austrian TV Channels From Anywhere in 2023 - 5